Time and tide

In a sci.casual first, now I have to talk about me outside of my About page.

Looks like the clock‘s about to run down on my graduate research career. My advisor’s given me the green light to write up my dissertation by not involving me in a lot of projects anymore. Still have to teach, but that’s fine. I like teaching at the college level. My deadline’s December – I’ve got to wrap up everything and find a new job by then. However, this means that I’m going to have even less time to dedicate to reading up on some really cool research and writing it up for all of my beautiful followers (to my more than 50 followers, thank you so much for making this first month a blast) and other curious casual scientists. After all, I don’t want to start mouthing off on topics I know little about. I’d rather not fall into the Dunning-Kruger effect, or if you want to use another metaphor, I’d rather not climb Mount Stupid, as Zach Weiner of Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal calls it. So, I’m going to have to start backing off a bit on working on this blog. It may allow me some more time to work on my dissertation, but I apologize nonetheless.

I am not quitting sci.casual. I repeat, I am not quitting sci.casual. This just means that I’ll only be posting my usual research snark on Mondays, and I’ll pop into a Daily Prompt from time-to-time. I’m still going to take a few laps around the Community Pool, maybe even scare the freshmen in First Friday, maybe pop up in the Daily Prompt blogs and pay my followers’ blogs a visit – it’s become quite diverse and gives me an interesting cross-section into what my audience really is like. I’m not writing for research scientists like me, I’m writing for everyone else, people who are genuinely curious about what the heck it is scientists are doing, and what good it will be for the world. Jumping randomly into my followers’ blogs will remind me of that.

When I’m done with all this, I’ll be Dr. Jonny from sci.casual, hopefully with a new job lined up, and a new home base (OK, coffee shop) to start mouthing off on some really cool new research. I’ll be back to my two-a-week blogging, maybe even three if I suddenly become exceptionally brilliant, but for now, I’ll be scheduling my blogs for Mondays. I still want to thank everyone who’s ever read this blog, and triple-thanks for following. I’ll have to continue learning how to blog as well, since I want to be awesome once I’m done with my dissertation. When I get to the other side, I should have a better sci.casual for your enjoyment (and mine too).

Welp, I’ll be moving along on my dissertation now. I’ve got my Foggy London and my snickerdoodle cookies, it’s time to roll. See you Mondays!

Featured image credit: Wikimedia Commons (CC-BY-SA-30.de, author: Turelio)

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

