…people are reading this?

I’m easily bewildered by a lot of things. I can drive a car, I’m this close to a doctorate degree in chemistry, augmented reality is just way too awesome, and now this: there’s people all over the world reading my blog just last month. People are likingscience blog, if you can believe it. People are even following this. Some are even putting me as a favorite link. And now, Dela from Little Geeky Blog nominated me for this:

oie_transparent-11.png

You like me! You really like me! Anyway, turns out there are rules attached to this, and there they are:

  • Show the award on your blog
  • Thank the person that has nominated you
  • Share 7 different facts about yourself
  • Nominate 15 blogs of your choice
  • Link your nominees and let them know of your nomination

So here we go:

  1. I really am a scientist. My bachelor’s and master’s degrees are in chemistry, and my upcoming doctorate is in chemistry education. Think what happens when you smash up chemistry, cognitive psychology, and modern educational theories (a lot of which is linked back to cognitive psychology anyway). Dr. Jonny from sci.casual can’t prescribe you any medications, but at least I can help you get past General Chemistry.
  2. I read my first book at age three-and-a-halfMy mother (RIP, I miss you) taught me how to read, speak, and write in English, which may be odd considering that I’m from the Philippines, you’d think I’d be taught the local language first. Guess she thought I was destined to end up here in America somehow. That book was Frog and Toad Together by Arnold Lobel. If by some fluke of the order in the universe I have kids, this will be the first book they read. I think I’ll follow it with this.
  3. I have an eclectic taste in music. I don’t have a particular genre – a quick sweep of my MP3 player (particularly the jerk who stole my old Zune) could give you that idea. Ambient, house, goth, metal, trance, K-pop, J-pop, French rap, Banghra, Celtic folk, blues, Japanese folk metal, really just about anything but country. Couldn’t get into it, don’t know why, but I can live with it.
  4. I have geek tendencies. Sci-fi, Magic: The Gathering, D&D (3.5 for life) and even Shadowrun. Even have anime and video games. If it wasn’t for the gym, I’d be a stereotype.
  5. I’ve tried many different kinds of artistic expression. I faff around with GIMP (Photoshop’s expensive, you know), but I can’t draw. I love music, but I can’t play anything (tried bass, guitar, electric guitar, all failed). Tried writing prose and poetry, but it ends up becoming disjointed, absurd, and snarky very quickly. Oh well, science writing it is!
  6. The biggest thing on my bucket list is to lap the NürburgringThere’s the short Grand Prix track, but I want to tackle the Nordschliefe – the Green Hell itself. I like cars, and I think every car enthusiast needs to make a pilgrimage to this hallowed ground.
  7. I’m married. Who says nerds can’t find love?

But who should I nominate for this? Well, there’s a very likely chance some of these have gotten these awards already, but I guess it’s still a ‘thinking of you’ mixed with ‘I like your blog’:

Naomi (@naomirowan) – why on earth am I following a beauty blog? Naomi was one of the first people I started talking to here on WP. Her blog is growing and growing well. Here’s to its growth.

That Djenty Fool (@thatdjentyfool) – because YOU CAN’T KILL THE METAL \m/ (also I like his blog – metal reviews and stuff you may want to give a listen to, if you like metal or even just a little metal-curious)

Ruth (@historianruby) – History doesn’t have to be that blow-off class you took in high school or college (it feels that way probably because of a strung-out teacher, mark my words), it can give you a real good in-depth look at the human condition from a different perspective: where it used to be. She doesn’t just stick to one particular niche in history either, so why not pop over?

Rachel (@illuminatedliteration) – I may want to write a book someday once I get this pesky dissertation out of the way. Here we see how the novel is formed. Also, how the novelist is formed. She talks about both – how’s that for versatility?

(didn’t get a name, sorry) (@quikndirtybadfood) – Seriously, have you seen this? If you’re going to eat sweets, may as well make it yourself and feel proud of what you’re about to do: inhale a lot of sugar.

Frank (@letmebefrankwithyou) – Nothing wrong with a little smartaleckery, right?

Raquel (@recoverytowellness) – I don’t like the feeling that mental health is sometimes marginalized, especially here in the United States. It’s an important part of your well-being, just like your blood pressure or what’s in your lungs. This blog is also proof that there are people who learn from books, and some who learn from experience. Then there are those who learn from both – this is her story.

Aki (@thelearnify) – because you never stop learning. Not that you should, either. I’m learning a quite a bit from her, and it also helps keep me positive. Being cynical is harder than you think.

The Biology Yak (@biologyyak) – I don’t look at science blogs as competition, I look at them as cooperation. We’ve all got the same mission – we want to educate, little bit of entertainment, but it’s our way of making the world a much more wonderful place. This blog focuses mainly on biology, and that’s broad enough as it is.

Angela (@writingnatural) – It’s not just about writing, there’s also how you think about writing. It can come from anywhere, literally anywhere. You just have to be receptive to when a good story comes along. She’s got quite a few examples, why not pop in?

(no name, sorry) (@ihaveabadsenseofhumor) – This blog has its share of awards, but a quick scan pretty much shows why. It’s approachable and relatable, even if your personal experiences are radically different. We may have had to console an ailing friend, but what about decluttering your old papers?

Rosie (@rosielizrowice) – Speaking of decluttering, if you’ve been thinking about minimalist living, this would be a good place to start. When I grow up and have a home office, I’ll probably have the same design idea for what’s eventually my ‘inner sanctum’. Also trying to fight against the stereotype of a scientist in a room stacked high with papers. There’s more than minimalism in her blog, though, so give it a read.

Yanhao and Harvey (@thenexusscience) – More science blogs? More science blogs. I’m telling you, we really all do have the same mission. They tend to draw from a lot of the sciences, and yes, I consider mathematics a science.

Georgia (@theurbanagscientist) – I believe that science not communicated is science not valued. Science communication is such a broad field, and she’s done quite the job in talking about how scientists can talk to the public – it’s a completely different ball game than talking to other researchers.

Natalie (@butwhy) – Apart from imparting some very helpful advice in the Community Pool, her blog has a lot of stuff that makes us think about our lives, where it’s coming from, and where it could be going. It’s pretty heavy stuff. Look up the one on cutting down TV time – that’s a particularly good one. Works for me, but it didn’t quite transfer (OK, I didn’t make the transfer) to video games. Figures, considering my next blog post is on video games anyway.

And that’s that. It’s very clear I don’t know how to write a gratitude post (not that I’m not grateful, I’m just kind of a jerk), but I really am trying to express gratitude here. The award, if anything, is just a reminder to me in the first place that I’ve got followers and views in a science blog, of all things. Sometimes, being admired means being accepted into a social circle, even if you’re from far from the circle to begin with. I didn’t think I could call myself a blogger early on, now I think I have to work harder to stay a blogger.

Sounds good.

(by the way, if I didn’t nominate you, please don’t take it personally – I’ve been following quite a few blogs and quite various, and this was much harder than I thought it would be. I’ve actually been sitting on this post for about 3 or 4 days trying to limit it to 15 blogs)

Featured image credit: Jonny from sci.casual (generated by WordPress)

14 Comments

  1. So first off, I just have to say that anyone who studies science I’m just instantly impressed with. Like I’m over here all doe-eyed and just in aw that you are getting your doctorate in science. I’m not being modest, I completely SUCK at math and science. So, you know, kudos. Second, your voice is so clear in your writing, which I’m kinda jealous about. Third, I think that story about the first book you read and how it ties to your mother is incredibly sweet, and I’m sorry for your loss. Fourth, super random, but I like your font, it fits your theme.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. I’m a big science fan… many congratulations for the award!! It’s fun to know more about a scientist.. oh I also don’t have one favorite music genre.. I have many 😀 …
    Thank you for nominating Aki 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the recommendation 🙂 Rock on! I’m really surprised there are so few science blogs on WordPress — it’s such a great niche, and I love balancing out the artsy posts on my Reader with things grounded a bit more in reality. Woohoo science!

    Also, congrats on the doctorate. Talk about an achievement!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. grats on that doctorate! I never quite managed to get there and I know how hard it is! kudos to you for making it! Love your blog. I have a psychology background that rears its ugly head every now and then, and I adore science blogs! your, IMHO, is the best one in WP. grats on the award!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are one of my followers, and I thought about you for a Nomination for this very same award… When I saw that you have been nominated already… I thought about changing my nominations but then I realized that it is no need for that,… you well deserve at least two nominations!!!! and you have already done it!!! Congrats.
      I’ve presented you with the Versatile Blogger Award. Thanks for following and I hope you like this nomination!
      The direct link to your award, and the instructions is

      http://apothemary.com/2016/08/03/versatile-blogger-award/

      I do hope you have fun with this & do not hesitate to contact if you require further advice!
      apothemary

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you so much for the recommendation! That book is great, and this post is great. I always love finding out more about somebody I follow, it makes you seem more human if you know what I mean! Sorry I only just found this post, and thanks again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

