Jonny’s got a Liebster!

I’m honestly bewildered by sci.casual‘s explosion. Not long ago, I had a post that was Discovered, which blew up my Following numbers, driving up the views, and bringing me closer to world domination.

aug2016

(generated from WordPress)

I wonder if I’ll be able to get blog hits from Greenland…anyway, Unmotivated Enthusiast nominated me for a Liebster award! The Liebster award has been around for a while, a gift from bloggers to other bloggers.

liebster2

There are some rules applied to it, though, which I’ll attend to in order:

11 random facts about me.

  1. Doctoral student in chemical education, at least until December.
  2. I have 2 pets: Freya, my large main cat, and Lucy, my auxiliary back-up cat. Neither were adopted from breeders.
  3. I’ve become Pi-curious. For real – I’ve become really interested in Raspberry Pi lately, and if I have enough time for a new hobby, I’ll gladly start learning how to program with Python so I could have something to do on Pi.
  4. There seems to be a disproportionate number of things in my life that require random numbers, from dice rolls so I could decide how my workouts go, to ordered lists. That’s why despite not being a mathematician, I use Random.orglot. I’ve even used it to give myself an alias – just ask me how.
  5. I grew up mostly on Legos and science kits from Radio Shack. Now I’m sad – basic Lego sets are getting harder to buy, and Radio Shack’s selections just aren’t what they used to be…
  6. I married an English major. What, can scientists marry only other scientists? (I had a minor in English – and in drama studies, no less)
  7. I seem to bewilder a lot of graduate students. Normally, their health starts failing, they start gaining weight, and so forth. How I lost 41 kg was astounding to the lot of them.
  8. I have no idea why I bought 10 notebooks, some spiral, some casebound, and I’m not even using them.
  9. I’ve given serious thought to taking up voice-acting after my stint as a stage actor. Community theater, but I got rave reviews.
  10. If I could go on a writing retreat, I would go by myself to Red Cloud, Nebraska. There, I could check into the house where Willa Cather once lived (it operates as a B&B, just about) and just write whatever I want (a book? my dissertation? sci.casual?) and spend a couple of nights there. The granola and the zucchini bread that the Foundation leaves in the House for their guests are extremely addictive.
  11. I don’t have a smartphone of any kind. I’m not a Luddite, I’m just horrendously cheap. Having little money doesn’t help.

11 random questions.

  1. What is your passion? I don’t care if it sounds like a cliché for a scientist, it’s teaching and learning science.
  2. Why did you start blogging? Here’s why.
  3. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? I don’t really know – if I change myself in any way, would I be the same Jonny from sci.casual? Here’s a little something to think about.
  4. Is there a moment in your life you wish you could go back to just to enjoy it again? If so, what moment is it? Completing the first book I’ve ever read by myself.
  5. Are you planning to publish a book in the future? If so, what would it be about? It’s going to very likely be about communicating science for the public. Not very surprising, is it?
  6. Do you believe in love at first sight? I’ve seen enough evidence for it.
  7. Is there something you’re afraid of that’s quite unusual? When I was much younger and smaller, these.
  8. What country are you from? I’m originally from the Philippines.
  9. How many languages do you speak? Physically, one. How many can I understand? Three. Counting computer languages? Four.
  10. What is one of your most embarrassing moments in life? You want me to tell you that here!?
  11. Are you happy? You just asked me for my most embarrassing moment and now you’re asking if I’m happy? How about flustered, huh?

 

Nominate some bloggers.

@grokscience – I have a feeling that more people tune in, but there’s only 66 followers. They run a weekly podcast with leading experts in the sciences – swing by, maybe you’ll find something to tickle your fancy? (to be honest, they’re the reason I started thinking about science blogging)

@mathsbyagirl – Here’s some reasons as to why math(s, for Anglophones outside of the US) is interesting. The blogger being a girl means…well, I think we really should just get rid of the tired old myth that girls can’t do math. Math does not discriminate by such things as race or gender – it discriminates by ‘who taught you how to do ordinary differential equations, an ape!?’

@scientistabe – The Blood-Brain Barrier Scientist is a well-rounded nerd; it’s not just about science (especially a specific subset of it, neurobiology), it’s about nerd culture as well. There’s also some Gothic Metal in there, if that’s your thing (and if it isn’t, you don’t know what you’re missing…)

Zach and Stephanie – Education Rickshaw is not so much about teaching as it is about the culture around teaching, especially when the culture around it isn’t in from your country of origin. Why not give it a look?

Linda and Bartosz – A Place We Like is a rather neat travel blog. Of course nice pictures and all, but it’s the presentation that gets me. Even if I can’t afford to wander around London or Thailand, at least I can feel like I’m there with their narrative.

So I want to send a shout-out again to the Unmotivated Enthusiast for the award, and many thanks!

postscript: My Monday post is already done and scheduled. I decided on dogs.

 

Featured Image credit: knowyourmeme.com (author unknown)

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

